What are the two primary curvatures of the vertebral column?

The vertebral column is curved, with two primary curvatures (thoracic and sacrococcygeal curves) and two secondary curvatures (cervical and lumbar curves).

The vertebral column has four curvatures, the cervical, thoracic, lumbar, and sacrococcygeal curves. The thoracic and sacrococcygeal curves are primary curves retained from the original fetal curvature. The cervical and lumbar curves develop after birth and thus are secondary curves.

Also, what is the purpose of the curvatures of the vertebral column? Primary curvatures The vertebral curvatures provide a flexible support (shock-absorbing resilience) for the body. The thoracic and sacral (pelvic) curvatures are concave anteriorly and are referred to as kyphoses (singular: kyphosis).

Secondly, which vertebral curvatures are primary and which are secondary?

The primary curves (thoracic and sacral curvatures) form during fetal development. The secondary curves develop after birth. The cervical curvature forms as a result of lifting the head and the lumbar curvature forms as a result of walking.

What is vertebral column?

The vertebral column is a series of approximately 33 bones called vertebrae, which are separated by intervertebral discs. The column can be divided into five different regions, with each region characterised by a different vertebral structure.

How many bones are in the vertebral column?

The human spinal column is made up of 33 bones – 7 vertebrae in the cervical region, 12 in the thoracic region, 5 in the lumbar region, 5 in the sacral region and 4 in the coccygeal region.

Why is the vertebral column important?

The major function of the vertebral column is protection of the spinal cord; it also provides stiffening for the body and attachment for the pectoral and pelvic girdles and many muscles.

What are the two primary curvatures seen in the vertebral column of a fetus?

The vertebral column is curved, with two primary curvatures (thoracic and sacrococcygeal curves) and two secondary curvatures (cervical and lumbar curves).

What is primary curve?

In the womb and for a period of time following birth, a baby’s spine is shaped like the letter C. This curve is termed a primary curve, which is Kyphotic. During the time the baby is learning to lift his head and eventually walk, muscles develop.

What does the vertebral column develops from?

The vertebral column originally develops as a series of 33 vertebrae, but this number is eventually reduced to 24 vertebrae, plus the fused vertebrae comprising the sacrum and coccyx. Superiorly, the C1 vertebra articulates (forms a joint) with the occipital condyles of the skull.

How many joints are in the spine?

Each level of your spine functions as a three-joint complex. There are two facet joints in the back and a large disc in front.

What is the difference between spinal cord and vertebral column?

The spinal cord is shorter than the length of the bony spinal column; the spinal cord extends down only to the last of the thoracic vertebrae. Nerves that extend from the spinal cord from the lumbar and sacral levels must run in the vertebral canal for a distance before they leave the vertebral column.

How many regions of the vertebral column are there?

five regions

What are the 26 bones of the spine called?

The spine, also known as the vertebral column or spinal column, is a column of 26 bones in an adult body — 24 separate vertebrae interspaced with cartilage, and then additionally the sacrum and coccyx.

What is a Zygapophyseal joint?

The facet joints, (or zygapophysial joints, zygapophyseal, apophyseal, or Z-joints) are a set of synovial, plane joints between the articular processes of two adjacent vertebrae. There are two facet joints in each spinal motion segment and each facet joint is innervated by the recurrent meningeal nerves.

How many vertebrae are in the human body?

33 vertebrae

How do you count vertebral segments?

When counting vertebral segments, be mindful that a single interspace sits between two vertebral segments. For instance, the span C6-T2 contains four vertebral segments (C6, C7, T1, and T2) and three vertebral interspaces (C6/C7, C7/T1, and T1/T2).

What is a vertebral segment?

A vertebral segment represents a single complete vertebral bone with its associated articular processes and laminae. Although the bones of the vertebral column are stacked on top of each other, they don’t actually rest on each other.

How is spine numbered?

The vertebrae are numbered and divided into regions: cervical, thoracic, lumbar, sacrum, and coccyx (Fig. 2). Only the top 24 bones are moveable; the vertebrae of the sacrum and coccyx are fused. The seven cervical vertebrae are numbered C1 to C7.